Maison Blog Maille Bluetooth contre. Maillage privé: Manuel des technologies IoT

Maille Bluetooth contre. Maillage privé: Manuel des technologies IoT

Mines juin 07, 2024

Introduction

Pour acquérir une compréhension plus approfondie des réseaux maillés, cet article examine les similitudes et les différences entre Maillage Bluetooth et maillage privé, en mettant en avant leurs définitions, principales caractéristiques, et bénéfices perçus à partir de cas réels d'utilisation.

Réseau maillé, comme terme générique, is often depicted as a group of connectivity or communication devices structured to forward and relay information across (Réseaux maillés – le Centre pour Internet et la société, s.d.). The increasing number of perishable devices creates demand for mesh networks. Examples are Passerelles IoT, Balises Bluetooth, Badges personnels RFID, et balises intégrées à la puce NFC. En raison de ses avantages clés tels qu'une couverture flexible et une auto-organisation, les réseaux maillés sont largement applicables et plus adaptables aux occasions commerciales et industrielles, captant ainsi l’attention d’un large éventail de praticiens. Cependant, il existe tellement de types différents de réseaux maillés. Une taille unique ne peut pas convenir à tout le monde. Each mesh network comprises unique features, distinctif des autres. Par exemple, Bluetooth mesh and private mesh represent two essential streams.

 

Bluetooth Mesh Vs. Private Mesh

Maillage Bluetooth

Definition

Bluetooth mesh is a coined phrase based on two very good technologies: Bluetooth Low-energy and Mesh networks. Developed by Groupe d'Intérêt Spécial Bluetooth (DIRE) dans 2014 and then adopted in 2017, it is defined as a branch of mesh networking, enabling many-to-many communications among IoT devices (Maillage Bluetooth, s.d.).

Principales caractéristiques & Avantages

Inheriting the benefits of both mesh networks and Bluetooth Low-energy, Bluetooth Mesh est conçu pour créer des réseaux d'appareils IoT à grande échelle selon une approche fiable et rentable. Sous connectivité maillée Bluetooth, des centaines ou des milliers d'appareils IoT connectés pourraient communiquer entre eux à moindre coût énergétique (Bluetooth&Rég; Engrener | Site Web de la technologie Bluetooth®, s.d.). Les appareils IoT, toujours périssables, peuvent désormais devenir un routeur qui communique et relaie des informations vers d'autres nœuds sans le coût supplémentaire de l'infrastructure et des communications à longue portée.. Son évolutivité pour étendre le réseau et son interopérabilité entre les appareils font de BLE Mesh une solution performante mais rentable..

Maillage privé

Definition

Suggéré par son nom, un réseau maillé privé est souvent défini comme un type de réseau maillé déployé et adapté aux applications qui nécessitent un degré élevé de contrôle et de sécurité.. Sous une telle définition, le maillage privé peut être compris comme un réseau de communication non standardisé et utilisé de manière privée pour les applications et tâches critiques.

Principales caractéristiques & Avantages

Les réseaux maillés privés constituent une stratégie rentable et fiable qui complète et compense les limites du Wi-Fi dans divers environnements et occasions extérieurs.. Unlike Wi-Fi or any other forms of “catch-all” connectivity, le maillage privé est moins cher et plus adaptable à des empreintes plus grandes telles que les fermes, entrepôts, et pôles logistiques (Réseaux maillés cellulaires privés – la bonne solution pour un moderne, 2023). Lorsque le déploiement du Wi-Fi n’est pas réalisable notamment dans les zones ouvertes et que la mission de capter certaines informations reste encore critique et indispensable, le réseau maillé privé est le point de départ de la solution.

Un autre avantage clé de l’utilisation d’un réseau maillé privé est son niveau plus élevé de sécurité et de fiabilité.. Les réseaux maillés privés incluent souvent des protocoles de cryptage personnalisés, gestion sécurisée des clés, et des mécanismes d'authentification robustes. Les administrateurs réseau peuvent avoir un contrôle total sur la topologie du réseau maillé privé. Tout en devenant plus applicable à des usages et des occasions spécifiques, les réseaux maillés privés maximisent le sentiment de sécurité en les rendant plus privés que les autres réseaux open source. L'application des réseaux maillés privés varie de l'utilisation militaire et gouvernementale aux services financiers et à l'automatisation industrielle. (Réseaux maillés cellulaires privés – la bonne solution pour un moderne, 2023).

Similitudes & Différences

Les réseaux maillés Bluetooth et les réseaux maillés privés partagent de nombreuses caractéristiques communes. Outre les noms similaires, les deux réseaux peuvent activer les appareils périssables, également appelés nœuds dans ce cas, se connecter avec chacun. Une telle fonctionnalité est cruciale car elle permet aux appareils de communiquer directement et facilite la transmission d'informations, en particulier à partir d'un système complexe.. Par conséquent, désormais, des quantités d'informations accrues peuvent être traitées de manière plus fiable puisque chaque nœud n'interagit plus uniquement avec un hub central.

Standardisation versus personnalisation

Il y a toujours eu un compromis entre standardisation et personnalisation. Bluetooth Mesh est relativement un protocole plus standardisé. De telles caractéristiques de normalisation contribuent à l'interopérabilité entre les appareils de différents fabricants, facilitant son installation et son intégration à l'écosystème IoT existant. En revanche, le maillage privé est né pour être personnalisé. Chaque constructeur peut personnaliser le réseau maillé privé en fonction de ses besoins, augmenter le niveau de sécurité et de personnalisation au détriment de l’interopérabilité.

En plus, différents niveaux de personnalisation appartenant à deux technologies sont également présentés en termes de principes de fonctionnement et de protocoles. Par exemple, BLE Mesh s'appuie principalement sur Bluetooth Low-Energy tout en étant un Mesh privé, d'un autre côté, est subjectif à divers protocoles, comme le Wi-Fi, Zigbee, et Z-Wave.

En outre, les méthodes de communication offertes par ces deux réseaux maillés sont également différentes. D'un côté, les ordres de la passerelle sont diffusés à tous les nœuds dans un maillage BLE afin que chaque nœud puisse coopérer et relayer les informations jusqu'à ce qu'elles soient finalement transmises au hub central. De l'autre, dans un réseau maillé privé, le système déterminera dynamiquement le meilleur itinéraire pour la transmission des données. Le réseau maillé privé peut déployer OLSR (Routage d'état de lien optimisé) ou AODV (Vecteur de distance ad hoc à la demande) selon les conditions du réseau avant de transférer des données et des informations.

Conclusion

Cet article constitue un aperçu global des similitudes et des différences entre deux types de technologies de réseaux maillés., en termes de leurs définitions, principes de travail, et les avantages qui en découlent. En contribuant à la connaissance du BLE Mesh et du Mesh privé, cet article crée de la valeur en permettant aux utilisateurs d'acquérir davantage de connaissances et de prendre des décisions commerciales fondées sur des données scientifiques lors de la sélection et de la personnalisation de leurs solutions de connectivité IoT uniques.. Pour plus d’informations sur chaque technologie, click on related articles to dive deeper.

 

OUVRAGES CITÉS

Bluetooth® Mesh | Site Web de la technologie Bluetooth®. (n.d.-b). Site Web de la technologie Bluetooth®. https://www.bluetooth.com/learn-about-bluetooth/feature-enhancements/mesh/

Maillage Bluetooth. (s.d.). MATLAB & Simulink. https://www.mathworks.com/discovery/bluetooth-mesh.html

Mesh Networks — The Centre for Internet and Society. (n.d.-b). https://cis-india.org/telecom/resources/mesh-networks

Private Cellular Mesh Networks – The Right Fit for a Modern. (2023, Février 16). RCR Wireless News. https://www.rcrwireless.com/20230215/network-infrastructure/wi-fi/private-cellular-mesh-networks-the-right-fit-for-a-modern-enterprise

Précédent: Maille Bluetooth contre. Maillage privé: Manuel des technologies IoT

Suivant: 5G Permettre l’innovation future de l’IoT: Tendances et perspectives du secteur

Bluetooth Mesh Vs. Private Mesh: Handbook of IoT Technologies

Minew Jun 07, 2024

Introduction

To gain a more thorough understanding of mesh networks, this article delves into the similarities and differences between Bluetooth mesh and private mesh, by highlighting their definitions, key features, and benefits perceived from real cases of usage.

Mesh networking, as an umbrella term, is often depicted as a group of connectivity or communication devices structured to forward and relay information across (Mesh Networks – the Centre for Internet and Society, n.d.). The increasing number of perishable devices creates demand for mesh networks. Examples are IoT gateways, Bluetooth beacons, RFID personal badges, and NFC chip embedded tags. Due to its key benefits such as flexible coverage and self-organization, mesh networks are widely applicable and more adaptable to commercial and industrial occasions, thus capturing the attention of a wide range of practitioners. However, there are so many different types of mesh networks. One size cannot fit all. Each mesh network comprises unique features, distinctive from others. For instance, Bluetooth mesh and private mesh represent two essential streams.

 

Bluetooth Mesh Vs. Private Mesh

Bluetooth Mesh

Definition

Bluetooth mesh is a coined phrase based on two very good technologies: Bluetooth Low-energy and Mesh networks. Developed by Bluetooth Special Interest Group (SIG) in 2014 and then adopted in 2017, it is defined as a branch of mesh networking, enabling many-to-many communications among IoT devices (Bluetooth Mesh, n.d.).

Key Features & Benefits  

Inheriting the benefits of both mesh networks and Bluetooth Low-energy, Bluetooth Mesh is designed to create large-scale IoT device networks in a reliable and cost-effective approach. Under Bluetooth mesh connectivity, hundreds or thousands of IoT devices connected could communicate with each other at a lower energy cost (Bluetooth&Reg; Mesh | Bluetooth® Technology Website, n.d.). Ever-perishable IoT devices can now become a router that communicates and relays information to other nodes without the extra cost of infrastructure and long-range communication. Its scalability to expand the network and interoperability across devices makes BLE Mesh a high-performing but cost-efficient solution.

Private Mesh

Definition

Suggested by its name, a private mesh network is often defined as a type of mesh network deployed and tailored to applications that require a high degree of control and security. Under such definition, private mesh can be understood as a non-standardized and privately-used communication network for critical-mission applications and tasks.

Key Features & Benefits

Private Mesh networks are a cost-effective and reliable strategy that complements and offsets the limitations of Wi-Fi in diverse outdoor environments and occasions. Unlike Wi-Fi or any other forms of “catch-all” connectivity, private mesh is less expensive and more adaptable to larger footprints such as farms, warehouses, and logistics hubs (Private Cellular Mesh Networks – the Right Fit for a Modern, 2023). When the deployment of Wi-Fi is not feasible especially in open areas and the mission to capture certain information is still critical and essential, the private mesh network is where the solution steps out.

Another key advantage of utilizing a private mesh network is its higher level of security and reliability. Private mesh networks often include custom encryption protocols, secure key management, and robust authentication mechanisms. Network administrators can have complete control over the topology of the private mesh network. While becoming more applicable to specific usages and occasions, private mesh networks maximize the sense of security by making them more private instead of other open-source ones. The application of private mesh networks varies from military and government use to financial services and industrial automation (Private Cellular Mesh Networks – the Right Fit for a Modern, 2023).

Similarities & Differences

Bluetooth mesh and private mesh networks share many common characteristics. Besides the similar names, both networks can enable perishable devices, also called nodes in this case, to connect with each one. Such feature is crucial because it enables devices to communicate directly and facilitate information transmission especially from a complicated system. As a result, now escalated amounts of information can be handled in a more reliable approach since each node is no longer interacting only with a central hub.

Standardization Versus Customization

There has always been a trade-off between standardization and customization. Bluetooth Mesh is relatively a more standardized protocol. Such features of being standardized contribute to interoperability among devices from different manufacturers, making it easier to be installed and integrated with the existing IoT ecosystem. In contrast, private mesh is born to be customized. Each manufacturer can customize the private mesh network according to their needs, increasing the level of security and customization at the cost of interoperability.

Besides, different levels of customization owned by two technologies are also shown in terms of working principles and protocols. For instance, BLE Mesh mainly relies on Bluetooth Low-energy while private Mesh, on the other side, is subjective to various protocols, such as Wi-Fi, Zigbee, and Z-Wave.

In addition, the communication methods given by these two mesh networks are also different. On the one side, orders from the gateway are broadcast to all nodes in a BLE mesh so that each node can cooperate and relay information until it is finally transmitted to the central hub. On the other, in a private mesh network, the system will dynamically determine the best route for data transmission. The private mesh network may deploy OLSR (Optimized Link State Routing) or AODV (Ad-hoc On-Demand Distance Vector) according to network conditions before having data and information transferred.

Conclusion

This article serves as a holistic overview of the similarities and differences between two types of mesh networking technologies, in terms of their definitions, working principles, and benefits derived. By contributing to the knowledge of BLE Mesh and private Mesh, this article creates value by letting people make more knowledge and scientific-based business decisions when selecting and customizing their unique IoT connectivity solutions. For more information regarding each technology, click on related articles to dive deeper.

 

WORKS CITED

Bluetooth® Mesh | Bluetooth® Technology Website. (n.d.-b). Bluetooth® Technology Website. https://www.bluetooth.com/learn-about-bluetooth/feature-enhancements/mesh/

Bluetooth Mesh. (n.d.). MATLAB & Simulink. https://www.mathworks.com/discovery/bluetooth-mesh.html

Mesh Networks — The Centre for Internet and Society. (n.d.-b). https://cis-india.org/telecom/resources/mesh-networks

Private Cellular Mesh Networks – The Right Fit for a Modern. (2023, February 16). RCR Wireless News. https://www.rcrwireless.com/20230215/network-infrastructure/wi-fi/private-cellular-mesh-networks-the-right-fit-for-a-modern-enterprise

Prev: Unveiling the Power of LTE-M/NB-IoT Gateway in Enhancing IoT Connectivity

Next: Understand Requirements of Using Bluetooth MESH for IoT Devices